Sunday, 12 August 2012

Daily Cycling Facts 13.08.12

Pascal Lino, born in Sartrouville, France on this day in 1966, wore the maillot jaune for eleven days after finishing Stage 3 in fourth place, then came fifth overall at the 1992 Tour de France. The following year he won Stage 14, then 1994 he was eleventh at the Tour and fourteenth at the Vuelta a Espana.

Jules Buysse leading Stage 1, Tour de France 1926

Born in Wontergem on this day in 1901, Belgian Jules Buysse was the younger brother of Lucien and Marcel. He won the first stage of the 1926 Tour de France and wore the yellow jersey for two days, then it passed first to Gustave van Slembroucke and then Lucien, who won the General Classification. Jules came ninth.

Other cyclists born on this day: Dionisio Galparsoro (Spain, 1978); Michael van Staeyen (Belgium, 1988); Jairo Hernández (Colombia, 1972); José Medina (Chile, 1973); Grega Bole (Slovenia, 1985); José Antonio Díez (Spain, 1982); John Geddes (Great Britain, 1936); Moana Moo-Caille (France, 1988); Kurt Postl (Austria, 1937); Park Se-Ryong (South Korea, 1959); Dashnyamyn Tömör-Ochir (Mongolia, 1964); Tadeusz Mytnik (Poland, 1949); Michael Walker (Great Britain, 1885, died 1971); Tompson Mensah (Togo, 1954); Martin Sæterhaug (Norway, 1882, died 1961); Aleksandr Kirichenko (USSR, 1967); Carlos Galeano (Colombia, 1950); René Abadie (France, 1935, died 1996).

No comments:

Post a Comment